Object-oriented paradigm

A bit of conversation inside me during a long weekend.

You may ask: conversation inside me? Like in MPD (Multi-Personality Disorder)? Was it a conversation between your alter ego’s? Like our friends K. W. or E. D. A.?

I’d say no. If each “ego” realizes the existence of other “ego”s and more than one “ego”s show up at a time, it is not MPD, I think. I only have one ego, it’s more like personas. Everyone has several personas inside them, and it’s not bad. It is very normal.

Anyway, here goes the conversation:

Me: “There is no software that is not buggy. I am buggy. Am I software?”

Me: “Ummm.. No. Consider object-oriented paradigm. You’re not as big as a software. You’re just an object in a program, an instance from the class Human, created when God called some method called Create() or such. And when you die, that means God calls the method Destroy() and boom! You. Are. No. More. Oh, and remember that a software consists of program, data, and documentation.”

Me: “But this God I believe in, He said that there is life after death. Wouldn’t that mean when I die, God doesn’t call Destroy(), but instead He transforms me into some other object? An instance of a different class?”

Me: “No, no. You cannot transform an object into another object from any class. Attributes value change, maybe. Listen, in that life after death, will you be who you are?”

Me: “No, it will be a new me, a different me. New flesh and all..”

Me: “OK. So you know in object-oriented programming, when an object is destroyed, it means that some pieces of memory that was previously occupied by the object is freed, and ready to be used by other objects? I think the same thing happens to you when you die. God destroys you, free up the resources you are using, and then use them to create another object of different class, the one you refered to as the new you.”

Me: “Is that right?”

Me: “Well that’s what I think, but I am no God. What I think is not what God thinks. Maybe. Or maybe not. Both, perhaps. I don’t know, I ain’t God.”

Me: “That’s quite abstract. Anyway, if what you said is true, then would it mean that the object-oriented paradigm is the most perfect one? The one closest to the paradigm God used when He created the world?”

Me: “Once again, MAYBE yes. But who knows? If you want to know for sure, I guess you have to die first. Now we can only have faith. I’d be glad to help you die, but if I kill you then I’d die to, and I don’t want to die. Yet.”

Me: “Phew, thank God, then.”

Me: “Yeah whatever. By the way, it’s not abstract like you think. Myself prefer to believe that God is surreal. I recall I made a drawing of the surreal God and posted it in our deviantart account.”

Me: “Yeah I saw it.”

Me: “My point is, I think we, God’s creation, cannot perceive what God knows using our senses. People are wondering whether God is real. I think He is not real. Not just real. He is more than real we cannot understand Him. Maybe later, when we’re not human anymore. New human, whatever.”

Me: “I get your point.”

Me: “One more thing. You said that you are buggy, didn’t you?”

Me: “Yes, I got all these bugs..”

Me: “Listen. It is not bug, okay? You are not perfect. No one’s perfect. But that only means you are unique. You are distinguishable from other Humans, and that’s not bad at all. In fact, it is very good. Imagine everyone’s perfect. Then how would you respect others? You can do everything without them, why would you need others?”

Me: “Well actually not that kind of bug, but thanks anyway. I am very aware that I am unique. Oh, and these bugs are not actual bugs neither, you know, insects. They’re just.. Uh, forget it.”

Me: “OK. Now can we continue the movie rally? before the day’s over. Before more deadlines are coming.”

Me: “Fine. What’s next?”

Me: “Umm.. What about the Bourne trilogy?”

Me: “Nice! Let’s watch it. Err.. One more question: are you religious?”

Me: “Me? No. I believe in God. I trust God. But no religion, thanks. No more chit-chat, OK? Let’s watch.”

Me: “All right then.”

Me: “Sssh!”

***

2 thoughts on “Object-oriented paradigm

Tinggalkan Balasan

